About us


The School of Law is one of the schools of the College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS). Established in 1973, the School of Law (the then Faculty of Law) has made a significant contribution to the Rwandan Judiciary, politics and public life. Many of its graduates have become top leaders of the country including Members of the Government, MPs, Judges, Managing Directors of companies, to mention a few.
The School of Law is uniquely poised to launch into the next level of serving the Rwandan, African, and global communities by building on its traditions of excellence in teaching and service, while growing its influence and relevance through research and publication. The School of Law administers three programmes namely: Undergraduate Programme, Masters Programmes and PhD Programme.


The main mission of the School of Law is to establish a reputation for excellence in research, teaching, and service that attracts local, regional and international scholars, and to train excellent legal professionals, with remarkable ethical and legal values, to serve the cause of justice in Rwanda, Africa, and the world. Our priority goals are to strengthen our faculty, introduce student-centered learning, update our curriculum, establish new masters programs, improve our organizational efficiency, and engage our talented alumni in the current life of our institution